Peas and B’s

Dear Chace,

It’s December and my favorite time of year. Christmas lights are up all over. The stockings are up and the Christmas tree is decorated and ready to be filled with presents.  I may be biased but I think you have been a very good boy this year so I think Santa will bring you some very nice things. I am going to try to have you take a picture with Santa but knowing you, you will hate it. We’ll see. If it’s a good picture, you definitely will see it here. As always we will be spending Christmas with family so I will try to take many pictures for us to look back on later.  The Christmas cookies will be put out for Santa on Christmas Eve. Your pajamas have already been picked out and are wrapped for you to open and wear on Christmas Eve.

Daddy and I have taught you a new word and it’s one of my favorites. “Please!” You of course say “peas” but we all know what you mean so it works just as well. As you say the word, you tend to bounce up and down in pure excitement. I am not sure if you are excited about whatever you are asking for or if you are just excited to see how happy it makes us that you say the magic word. Right about now you get just about everything as long as you say “peas”! I can’t promise that will always be the case though, but you are welcome to try it. I have always said that I want you to grow up very well-mannered and it looks like you are on your way.

Things that start with the letter ‘B’ have taken over your life. First, your blankie is your must-have accessory for nap time and bedtime. You sometimes drag it around the house as you are playing too. Second, foods that start with ‘B’ have taken over your life. Black beans, berries and bananas are daily requests and of course you always say “peas!” Lastly, you still love bath time and reading books! You have started to undress yourself and even take your own diaper off. This is so helpful before a bath but you like doing it at other times throughout the day too which is really not that helpful. You have plenty of toys but its the books you gavitate towards. There is nothing more special than the 15-20 minutes before bed when you sit in my lap and we read your favorite books. Luckily for me you have not grown out of that but I know it’s just a matter of time before you will be off on your own not wanting to be sitting on mommy’s lap. I will cherish these moments forever.

You are almost 18 months old and you never cease to amaze me. You have no fear, are very smart and are quite adventurous. I have been on the move with you each and every step of the way and I hope that continues for a very long time.

Leave a Reply

