Parenting is the Hardest Job With the Highest Rewards

Dear Chace,

Parenting is hard work. I think its the hardest job in the world but that’s just me. I have come to realize that not everyone agrees with me. A lot of people have told me how lucky I am that I don’t have to work. While I understand what they mean, I really want to tell them that it’s quite a challenge. It’s not easy and every day is different. Sure, I wish I could sleep in or read a book, but that isn’t reality. That was my life before you were born. Now I am reading to you, putting you down to sleep, feeding you and enriching your life in every way possible.

I recently read a blog by a Modern Princess “Do Most Parents Hate Parenting” and found this very good advice for any parent.

Ways to Feel More Joy in Parenting:

Make time for yourself. Take a break from looking after the children. Exchange babysitting services with a neighbor, even for a short time once a week.

Practice time management. Set aside time to spend with the children, time for yourself, and time for your spouse and/or friends. Learn to say “no” to requests that interfere with these important times.

Avoid fatigue. Take care of your health. Exercise. Go to bed earlier and take short naps when you can. Taking care of kids requires a lot of energy.

Talk to someone. Sharing your worries is a great stress reducer!

Talk to your children. Children can feel your stress, which may cause them to be stressed. Have your kids open up about what is going on with them. This can help decrease the tantrums.

Take a weekend away with your significant other. It does wonders for your relationship.

While I don’t get paid for what I do, I do have the best job in the world. I get to spend all my time with you and see you grow into a wonderful little boy. It may be tough at times, but it is worth it in the end for me.

Love,
Mom

2 Comments on “Parenting is the Hardest Job With the Highest Rewards”

  1. workingmommawithababy says:

    This may be one of the best posts I have read on wordpress. Thank you! Great advice. And I definitely agree that people have the wrong idea if they don’t see parenting as a job–it can be fun, but it is a LOT of work!


Leave a Reply

