Your “Firsts”

Dear Chace,

One of the many benefits of staying home with you and not going back to work after you came into this world, is that I get to experience all of your “firsts” with you.

I will never forget your first rollover. I was randomly taping you from my iPhone when you rolled over. It actually shocked me a little because wasn’t anticipating it happening so fast. I knew you were close, but was not taping you because I actually thought you would roll over. Haha. Luckily that meant that Daddy and everyone else got to witness it too. I immediately sent off the video and got tons of happy and surprised text messages back. Most were shocked I was able to capture the moment on video. Wish I could take credit for it, but really it was purely coincidental.

We had to spend almost 2 weeks away from Daddy when you were about 6 months old because he got shingles. We were scared that you might get chicken pox so as soon as Daddy showed me the rashes on his back, we called Poppy and he confirmed my suspicion. It was about 8pm and I packed us both up and we headed to Momo and Poppy’s house. I was not going to take a chance with you getting sick so this was for the best. Unfortunately, while Daddy was getting better at home, you sat up for the first time on your own.

Luckily, the first time you walked Daddy was home. It was something I was worried about him missing, but you had great timing! We were all upstairs hanging out in your room when you decided to saunter over to Daddy. The look on his face was priceless. You made his day, no, you made his year! The rest is history because ever since then you have been on the move!

Hearing “Mama” for the first time is something any mom cannot forget. You were looking at a book and turned to me and said it out of the blue. You smiled. I smiled and nothing can warm my heart as much as when you say it. I may think differently about that statement when you are teenager and begging me to do something. We’ll have to wait and see!

You are still so young so there will be many more “firsts” in your life and I look forward to being part of some of them (because realistically, I will not be witnessing all of them!)

Love,

Mom

3 Comments on “Your “Firsts””

  1. workingmommawithababy says:

    Such a cute post! I can’t wait for my little guy to say “momma” to me.

  2. […] a lot of ‘Firsts’ going on in our house right about now. It reminded me of a post from Chace’s Firsts. Time really does fly by! Hoping I continue to cherish these special moments I get to share with […]


Leave a Reply

