ABC’s and 123’s

Dear Chace,
I’m sorry it has been awhile since I last wrote. While I can name every excuse in the book, it really doesn’t matter all that much to you right now. Maybe later on when you are reading this, you will turn to me and tell me how you wish I had spent more time writing to you. Who knows! One thing I do know is that you and I spend a great deal of time together and nothing is more important to me than that. I have vowed to try and write more especially given the fact that your little sister will be here in only a few short months. It’s exciting and scary at the same time. I have devoted most of my time to you so I can’t imagine how life with another child around will be. While I know we will adjust, it’s still a scary thought. So many moms and dads do it, so I’m sure we will figure it out too.

Lately I have been reflecting on all the wonderful things that you are doing these days. You have come so far! You brush your teeth on your own without a fight and in fact, love doing it. (Thank goodness!) You sit still while I cut your nails. I never really thought the day would come but it has and I am so grateful. You know your numbers from 1-12 and count almost all the time, even when we are shopping for groceries and waiting at the doctor’s office. You have conquered the alphabet and while sometimes you skip a letter here and there, you always go through it again after I remind you what letter you missed. You are just like your Daddy! Our newest game is hide and seek. You love to hide so while I am counting to 5, you head off to the same spot each time. As soon as you hear me say “Ready or not, here I come,” you say, “okay!” which always gives away your hiding spot. It makes me laugh each and every time. Your smile brightens up my day and while you have your moments, I always enjoy seeing you learn and grow.

While you have accomplished so much in your short 2 years of life, there’s always more learning ahead! I look forward to figuring out more of the world with you. It’s fun seeing things through a toddler’s eyes.

Love,

Mom

Leave a Reply

