Stitch Fix #1

Dear Chace & Harper,

photo (1)

Before becoming your mom, I always thought to myself I would never go a day without having my hair done, makeup on and dressed well. Clearly I was delusional because that is basically impossible and I am so happy to say that I am not upset about it one bit. My thinking has evolved. While I definitely put on makeup and dress casually but put together to go out of the house, I am certainly not opposed to wearing workout clothes or yoga pants and going makeup free all day. Now that I am a mom, I shop much less for myself and tend to spend more time on buying you clothes and shoes because you tend to grow out of things quickly and with seasons changing, new clothes are always needed. (Luckily, Aunty has passed down all of Kiley and Kaelyn’s clothes so Harper is the best dressed little girl I know).

Since I don’t shop for myself as often as I would like, I took advantage of a great company called Stitch Fix. They send me clothes based on my size, style and price preference. For example, I don’t need work clothes since I stay at home with you, so I asked my stylist for casual clothes whereas someone else might need office attire, so they could request that in their fix. After waiting a few weeks, I finally received my first “fix”. I received 5 items and if I choose to keep all 5 they discount the price by 25%. Otherwise, I can keep any number of items and then pay for them based on their price tag. It’s that simple. Someone buys the clothes for me and then it appears at my door with examples of how to wear each piece and accessorize each outfit. I love it! It’s like having my own personal stylist without the hefty price tag. I paid $20 to start the first fix and that $20 is deducted from the amount of anything I purchase.

Now on to the goods! As I said, I received 5 items:

1. A burgandy infinity scarf

2. A colorblock 3/4 sleeve cardigan

3. A black jersey knit top

4. A blue polka dot blouse

5. A white sleeveless knit sweater

I wish I would have taken pictures of them on, but I was so excited, I forgot and packed up the items to return in the pre-paid packaging before snapping them.

I loved everything they sent, and couldn’t wait to try it all on. After having a mini fashion show for Harper (Chace, you were napping), I decided to keep the cardigan and contemplated keeping the blouse too but just couldn’t justify the price this time. While I loved everything, they did not all fit well and the scarf was pretty but I already have a similar one so I didn’t need to keep this one.

Checking out was so easy. Just logged in online and filled out a few details about the things I sent back and the cardigan I kept. I even set up my next fix. I specified some things I was looking for to add to my spring wardrobe, so hopefully they will be able to put some great pieces together for me. Looking forward to my next fix!

Love,

Mom

One Comment on “Stitch Fix #1”

  1. […] you want to read about my previous fixes, they are here and here. I highly recommend this service for anyone (i.e. busy moms, working professionals, […]


Leave a Reply

