Bouncing Back One Run at a Time

Dear Chace & Harper,

Coffee before my run

Coffee before my run

Today is a long run day for me and that means that I have a lot to do before I can head out the door. I remember the days that I could just get up, slip into my running shoes and head out the door. Not so much these days. There are so many more things I have to think about and do before I can open that door and head out. I have to make sure you are both fed, dressed and diapers changed so that she doesn’t have too much to worry about. Then I have to get myself ready and have my coffee. My long runs used to be every week and at least 10 miles, but these days I am ecstatic if I get in 4-5 miles as a long run. Sure, I just had a baby but this time around it’s much different than after I had Chace.

My first pregnancy was relatively easy. I had morning sickness in the first trimester but after that I was completely back to normal and had enough energy to workout consistently and run up until my 7th month. Even then, I was able to walk on the treadmill and still workout just not as hard. Chace arrived 5 weeks early so that’s another reason I didn’t gain very much weight since a lot of the weight is put on in the last month or so. After spending a lot of time in the hospital and at Momo & Poppy’s house immediately after giving birth, I wasn’t really thinking about anything except Chace. When we got settled back at home and I was given the okay from the OB, I set out walking about 3 miles a day which then led to running on the treadmill at home. It was easy to run while Chace slept or played next to me. We had a great morning routine and I was so happy to be back running. I was able to drop the baby weight with exercise and breastfeeding. It wasn’t easy but it wasn’t something I was worried about either.

7 Months Pregnant

7 Months Pregnant

6 Weeks Post Pregnancy First Workout

6 Weeks Post Pregnancy First Workout

When I was pregnant with Harper, I was sick practically the whole time. If I wasn’t nauseous, I was extremely tired. Combine all that with an active toddler and needless to say I had a rough pregnancy. Furthermore, I was at the hospital so often because they were constantly monitoring me for fear of having another pre-term baby. I didn’t exercise nearly as much and I gained 15 more pounds than I did with my first pregnancy. Luckily, everything went smoothly and I had a healthy baby girl a day after her due date.

9 Months Pregnant

9 Months Pregnant

Heading home from the hospital

Heading home from the hospital

 

Fast forward to today, 4 months after giving birth and I am happy to say that I am exercising and breastfeeding but my body is not bouncing back like it did before. I know it takes time and I will be patient, but it’s also harder with two kids. I make the time and luckily I have a tremendous mother that makes sacrifices so that I can get in my runs while she watches you both. Unfortunately, I don’t have my treadmill at the moment, but when that is repaired I will for sure be back on it whenever I can.

I am looking forward to my long run tomorrow because it will be the first time I have run 6+ miles in a long time. That is the goal and I am hoping to reach it. Wish me luck!

Hugs and kisses.

Love,

Mom

 

Leave a Reply

