Running with a Heavy Heart Today

Dear Chace & Harper,

pray for boston

Yesterday was the Boston Marathon and unfortunately an iconic event for runners turned into a horrible tragedy. While I love to run, I never saw  myself competing there purely because I am a slow runner. I know many people that hard worked so hard and earned that coveted race rib to run in Boston. Luckily, they are all safe and sound. I can’t say the same for others. Many people were injured and to all those affected, my heart hurts for you and you are in my prayers.

I ran this morning for them. I ran for the people that cannot anymore. Yesterday was supposed to be such a fulfilling and celebratory time for those competing and spectating the marathon but ended up the opposite for those injured and even for those that were not injured. The uninjured  were part of something horrific even if they didn’t sustain an injury. I am sure they are shaken up in more ways than one. My heart hurts for them as well.

My hope is that we can unite as runners and keep on running. We can’t stop and let the coward(s) who did this win. We have to keep going and prove that this running community cannot be stopped.

Furthermore, I admire the people that ran into the chaos. So many ran away, but there were angels that were sent to the Boston marathon to help those in need. They may not have known it at the time, but I am sure they now do. So many individuals, runners, spectators, police, EMTs etc.  stayed to help the injured. The pictures and stories that I see and read today help me realize that there is so much good in this world and that is what I want to focus on. Thank you to all those that ran to help and stayed by people that were injured. You all are heroes in my eyes and the eyes of so many around the country. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

I want my children to grow up and run without fear. I hope that happens for them someday.

Love,

Mom

3 Comments on “Running with a Heavy Heart Today”

  1. Shannon says:

    Good on you! We have to keep on running for those who can’t x


Leave a Reply

