No News, Good News

Dear Chace & Harper,

Lovely rainbow on our morning run!

Lovely rainbow on our morning run!

This has been one crazy week. I have to admit I am usually the last to know what is going on in the world because I do not have the tv on during the day and never listen to the news on the radio. I make a conscious effort to not have the tv on because then Chace will want to watch something or I will get distracted and watch something. It just works better for us for it to remain off until after you both are fast asleep. I don’t even turn it on during naps because I never know how long they will be. I just prefer to wait until nighttime when you are both down and out for the night. Then  I watch my shows uninterrupted (hopefully).
 TV, photo-1
So how do I find out what is going on? Well, honestly it’s either I read it on the Internet (yep I am on the computer or my phone while you both are napping) or I get a text or call from daddy or Momo with an update on breaking news.
photo(48)
While I think it’s important to know what is going on, I also know I don’t want either one of you exposed to what is being said on the news. It scares me, so it can’t be good for either of you. Just another ‘mommy decision’ and I’m sticking with it. When you are older and have questions, then we can talk about it, but right now it’s not necessary for you to know how crazy our world is at times.
I’m hoping that some good news comes our way soon!
Love,
Mom
5 Comments on “No News, Good News”

  1. crispyindeed says:

    I watch the news to stay informed, obviously. But sometimes, I need to force myself to stop because it just pisses me off. That is a beautiful rainbow you saw. I rarely see them, and if I have, they are very faint. It’s definitely nice to see something positive, especially with the recent events. I hope you and your family have a wonderful weekend.

    • I know the feeling! Especially lately, it’s just all bad news that is depressing. The rainbow was nice to see. I will try to send those and sunshine to you in Chicago….have a good weekend too!

  2. leelabee89 says:

    I’m a newsaholic (<–my new word for the dictionary!). I need to stop watching the news as much as I do. As soon as I wake up in the morning, I turned to the news, it's a habit that I need to break. By the way, I love you entire blog! I especially love when you end your entries with, "Love, Mom". You have a beautiful family!

    • Thank you so much for stopping by! Love your blog too. Just found it and can’t wait to read more. I wish I could follow the news more, but with my two kids around, it’s hard. I turn to the internet or social media for my updates. A little sad, but that is what works right now.


Leave a Reply

