Bedtime In Our House

PicMonkey Collage Dear C

 

Sleep has not been a huge issue in our household lately. I hope I am not jinxing myself by saying all of this, but it’s true. Our bedtime routine is pretty set. I give Harper a bath and then Chace gets his bath. After everyone is in their pjs then we go upstairs and read a few bedtime books. Chace gets to spend some time alone with us while I take Harper and put her to bed after nursing her. Most of the time she sleeps for 4 hours or more before getting up again. It’s been fairly easy with her and I am not sure if it is because I knew what to expect this time around or she is just an easier baby. Chace goes to sleep shortly thereafter but the time alone with us is priceless. We read, play with legos and enjoy spending some alone time with him. Then off to bed and he usually sleeps through the night without any problems.

IMG_0553

 

When Chace was 6 months I was nursing, rocking and walking around the house doing anything and everything to put him to sleep. He was not an easy baby to say the least. I think part of the reason I lost all the baby weight so fast and easily was because I was constantly walking up and down the stairs to put him to sleep. There were 14 stairs in all and I did that over and over again. It was very hard until around 10 months when I made the very difficult transition from Chace sleeping in our bed, to him sleeping in his crib. It was time. I had little to no sleep and I was ready to try something new. I didn’t use any particular method to “sleep train”. I did what felt right and it worked. I am not going to sugar coat things. The first 3-4 days were incredibly tough. I don’t like hearing my baby cry and I wanted to pick him up and hold him tight every time he did, but I knew it was something I had to do (after multiple failed attempts Daddy had to step in and soothe me a bit). I would lay on the floor next to his crib and talk to him but then leave the room and come back in every so often. He would cry less and less and soon he was able to be put in the crib after our usual nighttime routine. We would kiss goodnight and I would lay him down with his blankets and he would fall asleep on his own. It was pure bliss when he did that for the first time. I am not going to lie, it was hard up until that point, but it was all worth it.

I know there are many different views on co-sleeping, cry-it-out methods and all the other crazy ways to sleep train your child. All I have to say is do what is best for you and don’t worry about what anyone else thinks.

photo(89)

I am planning on doing the same thing with Harper and while I have a few more months with her sleeping with me, I realize now that I want to have her sleep on her own too. I sleep better and I know eventually she will too. I will be enjoying our special time together now because I know we will have some rough nights ahead of us. This time though at least I know what I am doing (relatively) and there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Crossing my fingers all goes well!

PicMonkey Collage Love

2 Comments on “Bedtime In Our House”

  1. crispyindeed says:

    Tough love, right? My friend usually lets her 1 year old cry it out at home whatever it may be. But, being in public she doesn’t want to be rude and ignore her crying kid. Kudos to you.


Leave a Reply

