Coconut Water in Our House

PicMonkey Collage Dear C

 

Chace's "Juice"

Chace’s “Juice”

Coconut water is a staple in this house. I remember the first day I introduced it to Chace. He was sick and I couldn’t give him milk, so I called Poppy (my dad is a pediatrician) and he said to try coconut water to rehydrate him quickly. Well, from that day on Chace found his beverage of choice. I started out just saying “juice” and giving him coconut water but that all changed when we were at the park and he came up to me and asked for “juice”. I handed him his sippy cup filled with coconut water and he was on his way back to play. Another mother standing nearby overheard our conversation and then proceeded to tell me how bad it was that I was giving my son juice and the high sugar content and ramifications and so on. Luckily I had to refill his cup while she was lecturing me, so when I brought out the coconut water, she paused and asked if that was what I meant by “juice”.   I said yes and she seemed shocked and lost for words. She just uttered “oh good, I’m glad it’s not juice.” under her breath and walked away.

While I don’t mind people carrying on conversations at the park, I do mind the judgments that some people pass without knowing the whole story. I try to be really open minded for this reason alone. It did help me realize that calling it “juice” was confusing so I started calling it what it is which is coconut water. Chace caught on quickly and I learned my lesson. I don’t need to change words or meanings just because he is a toddler.

We keep our kitchen stocked with coconut water because I love it after a run or in smoothies, Daddy drinks it whenever, and Chace loves it all day any day. I love that it is natural and healthy and I can get it anywhere now. I used to only be able to find it at Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods but luckily all the stores I shop at carry it.

Cheers!

PicMonkey Collage Love

 

11 Comments on “Coconut Water in Our House”

  1. I will have to try this with the little Reese’s. I drink it but personally don’t like the taste for nutritional purposes only, but they may like it

  2. newbloggycat says:

    This is new to me. Where I live we only have fresh coconut juice. Stores only sell the whole coconut and we do not have packaged ones like in the pic. I give my girls juice occasionally and I believe everything in moderation is fine 🙂

  3. crispyindeed says:

    Did she at least apologize? That was rude of her to say the least. I tried giving coconut water a few tries, but I still don’t like it all. I really wish I did, but it’s unbearable drinking it for me lol.

    • It’s definitely not for everyone. It took me awhile to like it. I started with a flavored version and then switched to the regular. No, she didn’t apologize unfortunately. I think some people just are rude and that’s sad. Hope you have a good day!

  4. Michael says:

    We love coconut water at my house. I am a little sad to hear another mom lecturing about what to give your child. But I think you handled it nicely.

    Visiting from SITS Girls

  5. runnerjen521 says:

    I’m sorry that mom was so rude. People should learn to mind their own business. No, juice is not the best beverage, but even if that IS what you were giving Chace, that’s not her business. She can judge when she is perfect – and I guarantee you she is not.

    I wish I liked coconut water. I’ve tried it a few times (and a few flavors) and just can’t do it. It’s really good for you though!

    • Very good point! I have met so many wonderful and helpful moms and dads. It’s just so happens that this one was not one of them.

      It is definitely not my drink of choice, like Chace. It’s strange how much he loves it.


Leave a Reply

