Potty Training has Begun

PicMonkey Collage Dear C

photo(36)

Sorry I have been posting less lately, but there is a very good reason for that. Potty training has begun for Chace. I had tried it once before but it was not the right time. He just wasn’t ready so I left it alone and moved on. Recently I noticed him having an interest, staying dry at nap time and so I bit the bullet and started the potty training. Let’s be honest here. I was nervous, very nervous. I am not a fan of messes and diapers are so easy, but so expensive. I just realized that I have to deal. You will make messes. I will clean them up and we will move on. I know that you will get it eventually.

We started out wearing just a shirt and Honest training pants. I would ask Chace throughout the day if he had to go and sometimes he would need to and sometimes he would be so distracted, he would have already gone. No big deal. Accidents happened and I was okay with that. I was just reassurring and it seemed to help. He wasn’t scared of the potty anymore (which is what happened after the first attempt awhile ago). I was giving him such praise every time he went that he loved it. I didn’t need to offer a reward after the first day. He just would run to the potty or I would notice he was ready to go.

What Has Worked So Far:

1. Chace picked out his potty. I got this one from Amazon and he picked the color.

BabyBjornPottyChair1-271x300

(I just can’t bring myself to take pictures and post them of my kid on the potty! Those will never be seen here.)

2. Lots & Lots & Lots of praise. After the first time, he looked to my facial expression for the rest of the day and loved seeing me light up and give him lots of praise.

3. Just underwear the first day. I tried the plastic ones, but Chace hated them, so I went with the actual underwear and that worked better.

4.. Training Pants are easy to get on and off and if there is an accident, no big deal.

5. Staying home all day for the first 2 days. Then short trips out of the house.

6. Frequently asking if he has to go potty. The reminder was key for the first 2 days, then he would tell me (most of the time).

While we haven’t tried the potty outside of the house or during naps yet, we will eventually get that too. I am so excited he is staying dry at home. It’s the best feeling in the world right now. I know every child is different so what works for me might not work for others. Just have to go with the flow!

PicMonkey Collage Love

6 Comments on “Potty Training has Begun”

  1. Fantastic! Good luck to you both! Ale is 19 months and it not ready at all. How old is chase?

  2. workingmommawithababy says:

    I am definitely toying with the idea of potty training my little dude and these are helpful tips! I am terrified of having to deal with the messes, but like you say, I think I’m just going to have to shrug off the inevitable mess and go forward.

    • In my head I pictured it being much worse than it was. Just being prepared and keeping him close to the potty were key for me. It’s just hard leading up to it but if I can do it, anyone can!

  3. Valerie says:

    I think you’re very smart to wait until he’s actually ready! I have a 21 month old son who is in the “clearly not ready” stage right now. 😉 Last month, I asked my readers to share their experiences and I learned a lot: http://atlantamomofthree.wordpress.com/2013/05/16/what-do-you-think-potty-training/ Stop by, if you want! 🙂


Leave a Reply

