3 Years Goes By So Quickly

PicMonkey Collage Dear CMy life drastically changed 3 years ago. I was 35 weeks pregnant and ending my last day of work before starting maternity leave. I was finishing up loose ends after a nice lunch with a few co-workers when I received a call from my doctor telling me that I had to go to the hospital immediately to be induced right away. I had been having tests done to determine why I was having serious itching and those tests revealed that I had cholestasis. It’s a condition that can occur during pregnancy that usually requires early induction because the liver is not functioning properly and the baby could be at risk.

I was terrified, but after speaking with my sister, my mom and dad, my best friend and Daddy, I was ready. I quickly heading home, packed my hospital bag (yes, I was not prepared at all!) and we headed to the hospital.

IMG_0318

I was induced that evening at 11pm and had you the next afternoon. My life forever changed. You spent 9 days in the NICU and it was scary but luckily we had great doctors and nurses. We all had the best care possible. They truly are saints in my eyes.

IMG_0327

 

IMG_0389

I didn’t have anything ready for your arrival. I relied on Aunty Shirani and Momo. They had everything I needed and more. I spent a couple weeks at Momo and Poppy’s before heading home. It was closer to the hospital and since Poppy is a pediatrician, I just felt more comfortable having him around since you were so early and I was scared. Breastfeeding was hard but luckily I had great lactation nurses that helped us both out and eventually we got that down too. Life isn’t always easy and you have taught me that and so much more. Times can be tough but we are a strong family and we can get through anything together.

3 years really does go by quickly because I remember that day you came into this world like it was yesterday.

photo (62)

I am the luckiest mom in the world to have you in my life. Your smile, laugh and love make each and every day so wonderful. I can’t imagine my life without you. You are truly a blessing and gift from God. I love you, Chace, more than you will ever know!

PicMonkey Collage Love

Leave a Reply

