My Sleeping Beauties

PicMonkey Collage Dear CChildren and sleeping is a hot topic and in my small circle it is a very big topic. Some people sleep train. Some chose to put their kids on a strict schedule while others are less strict. Whether or not a child is sleeping through the night at a certain age or sleeping in the crib versus a parent’s bed and son on. It is never-ending.

I really don’t mind what others do because I always think the parents know what is best for them and their kids. I try to go with that mentality on a lot of the parenting hot topics because honestly, what works for me might not work for others. I mean, between my sister and I we have 5 kids and they are all completely different. In some instances our parenting is similar and in some it is completely different. We help each other out with advice but it doesn’t always work on each child the same.

IMG_1021

With Chace I didn’t put him into a crib until 10 months and even then it was so hard for me since I was still breastfeeding. I loved him sleeping with us, but I knew that it was time when Daddy was always waking up thinking he rolled off the bed or that he was not breathing. It just got to a point that I had to change our sleeping habits. It was hard, very very hard. I was so happy when Chace was able to go into the crib, lay down and sleep on his own without shedding a single tear. Each night I would bathe him, read books in the rocking chair and then lay him down in the crib and say our good nights. Then I would leave the room and he would fall asleep on his own. While this didn’t happen overnight, it did work and it worked well for us. Daddy would get up in the morning and go “rescue” Chace from his crib when he woke up. He would come in our room and play until it was time for Daddy to go to work. Once Chace started climbing out of the crib, I knew it was time for a bed. That transition was not too bad except I spent a long time laying down with him in bed before he fell asleep.

photo (8)

Now that Harper is almost 8 months old, I decided it was time for her to sleep in the crib too. She has always been a great sleeper and doesn’t nurse often at night. She doesn’t wake too often and can sleep well on her own. It was so much less painful this time because I knew that the few days of adjustment would be worth it in the end. Chace managed it, and she would too.

Here we are and at 8 months, Harper is sleeping in the crib and sleeping through the night. While I know many people would frown upon how long it took or why I waited, I don’t really worry about that anymore. It works for me. It works for my children and that is all that matters to me. We are happy with our choices and we are getting enough sleep and waking up very ready to start each day. I couldn’t ask for anything more!

Another chance to vote for me to be in the Top 25 SoCal Mom Bloggers 2013! Please click below and vote for me! I will forever be grateful…yes I am begging again.. Thanks to those of you that have vote and continue to vote. I appreciate it!

PicMonkey Collage Love

2 Comments on “My Sleeping Beauties”

  1. Just stumbled across your blog! What a cute idea. Cant wait to follow and read your posts!


Leave a Reply

