Halloween Traditions and Haunted Places

PicMonkey Collage Dear C

Halloween was not really a favorite holiday of mine before I had kids. Now I love it! Chace gets so excited about the thought of dressing up and he is constantly asking if he can trick or treat. His first Halloween he was a monkey and second year he was Yoda.

My Little Monkey

My Little Monkey

 

IMG_5033

Yoda!

Last year he was Tow Mater from his favorite movie Cars and this year he picked out his own costume, so I will wait for the big day to reveal what he will be.

IMG_5744

Tow Mater

For the past three years we have gone to my sister’s house for Halloween and trick or treating so that has become our family tradition. We have taken a picture each year in her front yard which has become so much fun to look back on.
IMG_3577
IMG_5763

My brother in law goes all out on Halloween. He takes the day off work and spends it setting up a haunted house, smoke machines, scary music and videos, creating scary faces just like the haunted mansion at Disneyland and decorating his house with all things creepy. The little kids are too scared to come to the door half of the time so my sister sits on her driveway handing out candy until the big high school kids come out. Daddy and Uncle Dan get dressed up and totally freak out the big kids. They get such a kick out of it! I want nothing to do with it since I am a self proclaimed wuss. Haunted houses, hotels and mazes are popular destinations at this time of year but I steer clear of them without a doubt.

That's Daddy!

That’s Daddy!

Uncle Dan and Daddy with Kaelyn (batgirl), Kiley (Ladybug) & Chace (Tow Mater)

Uncle Dan and Daddy with Kaelyn (batgirl), Kiley (Ladybug) & Chace (Tow Mater)

Anyone interested in haunted places? Here are the Top 5 Haunted US Hotels that you can check out or plan your next vacation around.
The first one holds a special place in my heart because that is where daddy proposed to me almost 6 years ago. Luckily we didn’t run into any ghosts or anything scary. It’s a fabulous hotel and I’m glad I didn’t know it was haunted!
Do you have any halloween traditions? Anybody like all things haunted, spooky and scary?
PicMonkey Collage Love
Leave a Reply

