Potty Training a Boy

PicMonkey Collage Dear CBabyBjornPottyChair1-271x300
Let me start off by saying that this is not meant to be the best guide but it is what worked for me.
We signed up Chace for preschool back in March with the school year starting in September. It does not have rolling admissions so we made the decision early and were so excited about it. Well I was…… Daddy may have had his misgivings because he wasn’t convinced Chace would be potty trained by the time school started. I knew it was going to be hard but I also knew that Chace had to be ready and forcing him would get us no where.
We tried once before and it was only successful for a few days. I think it was the rewards that made Chace go in the potty and the constant nagging from me. Well, after a couple days he was done and I mean completely done. He wanted nothing to do with the potty or anything related to it. I felt defeated but knew I couldn’t pressure him. I left it alone and during the summer (a few months later) I revisited it but this time I had a different approach.
I left the potty out close to where we spent a lot if our time. I had Chace naked from the waist down and had a timer on my phone set to every 15 minutes at first. When the timer went off, we would go to the potty and he would sit there. Sometimes he went and sometimes he didn’t. There were accidents but on tile floor it wasn’t too hard to clean. The next day I moved the potty further away and closer to the bathroom. The times he made it to the potty increased and he was rewarded for those. We celebrated each and every time. He loved calling daddy or Aunty to tell them what he had done. We continued this for 5 straight days and it worked. The timer was gradually increased and by the end of the second day, I didn’t need it anymore. I would just ask him and he would tell me yes or no.
I know it’s hard to stay home for three straight days but it’s what worked for us. We never left the house for those three days. On the fourth and fifth days we had really short outings. Walks to the park or drive to the store but always after he had gone potty at home.
IMG_2415a
I never thought the day would come but Chace was fully potty trained before school started in September and I am so proud of him. He has not had a single accident at school and is really good about telling me when we are out or in the car if he has to go. I am so proud of both of us! I wasn’t sure I would make it through potty training in one piece, but if I can, anyone can…..Good luck to all the moms out there!
This method worked for me. It’s different for each kid though. The most important part I learned is that he or she has to be ready.
 
PicMonkey Collage Love
4 Comments on “Potty Training a Boy”

  1. I may have to try your approach. I have been dreading potty training my 2 yr old. I don’t know when the right time is to start or if he is already ready and I don’t know it.hopefully I have as good as luck as you!

  2. Congrats! So happy for Chace. I may try your method when the time comes.


Leave a Reply

